The Department of Health and Public Welfare of the Province is organized into three main Divisions: Executive Division; Health Division; and Welfare Division.

The Executive Division includes the general administrative offices, administration of estates of mentally incompetent persons, fiscal supervision of public institutions, health education, statistics and provincial laboratories.

The Health Division of the Department of Health and Public Welfare is divided into three Sections:—

- (1) Environmental Sanitation, which consists of the Bureaus of Public Health, Engineering, Industrial Hygiene, and Food and Milk Control. The Bureau of Industrial Hygiene was started in 1943 to take care of the many hazards now appearing in industries, particularly those that have to do with the production of war materials.
- (2) Preventive Medical Services, which consists of the Bureaus of: Disease Control, responsible for the control of acute communicable disease, venereal disease and tuberculosis; Maternal and Child Hygiene, with subsections of maternal health, infant health, pre-school health, and school health; and Public Health Nursing.
- (3) Psychiatry and Hospitalization, which has two Bureaus. The Bureau of Psychiatry supervises and controls the four mental institutions—the Psychopathic Hospital, Winnipeg, the Hospitals for Mental Diseases at Selkirk and Brandon, and the Manitoba School for Mentally Defective Persons at Portage la Prairie. This Bureau also provides for the mental hygiene activities of the Province. The Bureau of Hospital Care is responsible for the supervision of hospitals and the payment of Provincial Government grants to them.

A new over-riding Division known as the Section of Local Health and Welfare Services has been set up. This Division cuts across all the activities of the Department and is responsible for the control of local part-time health officers, the establishment and supervision of local health units, and consultative services to local or municipal Health Departments throughout the Province. This work is to be extended to include the same type of service in the welfare field.

Saskatchewan.—The Department of Public Health has been organized since 1923 under a Minister and a Deputy Minister and consists of thirteen Divisions: (1) The Division of Administration co-ordinates the activities of the Department as a whole. (2) The Division of Public Health Nursing conducts a generalized program which includes all phases of public-health nursing; infant and maternal welfare, school work, venereal disease epidemiology, etc. This Division also supervises maternity grants and nursing homes. (3) The Division of Communicable Diseases administers provisions of the Public Health Act relating to control of communicable diseases, and also regulations relating thereto: (a) prevention, notification and control; (b) prepares morbidity and mortality tables; (c) makes investigations; (d) enforces isolation and quarantine; (e) traces disease carriers. It distributes free vaccines and sera to doctors and hospitals, supervises anterior poliomyelitis clinics, supervises boards of health and medical health officers, supervises medical examination of food handlers, burial, disinterment and transportation of the dead and promotes immunization programs. (4) The Division of Sanitation has supervision of water-works, sewerage systems and drainage; food supplies including milk; urban and rural sanitation. (5) The Division of Laboratories does routine public-health work in bacteriology, serology, chemistry and pathology and provides clinical diagnostic